Cluster and DoubleStar Ground-based Workshop

Uppsala, Sweden, 9-11 February 2005

 

 

Attendees

 

Mats André

IRF Uppsala

ma@irfu.se

Balan Nanan

University of Sheffield

B.Nanan@sheffield.ac.uk

Stephan Buchert

IRF Uppsala

scb@irfu.se

Erik Engwall

IRF Uppsala

erike@irfu.se

Sónia Figueiredo

Alfven Lab., Stockholm

sonia.figueiredo@alfvenlab.kth.se

Adrian Grocott

University of Leicester

a.grocott@ion.le.ac.uk

Yasuhide Hobara

IRF Kiruna

yasu@irf.se

Nickolay Ivchenko

Alfven Lab., Stockholm

Nickolay.Ivchenko@alfvenlab.kth.se

Hina Khan

ESTEC

hkhan@rssd.esa.int

Yuri Khotyaintsev

IRF Uppsala

yuri@irfu.se

Pekka Janhunen

FMI

pekka.janhunen@fmi.fi

Harri Laakso

ESTEC

Harri.Laakso@esa.int

Bjørn Lybekk

University of Oslo

bjorn.lybekk@fys.uio.no

Steve Milan

University of Leicester

ets@ion.le.ac.uk

Annika Olsson

IRF Uppsala

ao@irfu.se

Arne Pedersen

University of Oslo

arne.pedersen@fys.uio.no

Alessandro Retino

IRF Uppsala

alessandro.retino@irfu.se

Lisa Rosenqvist

IRF Uppsala

lr@irfu.se

Ingrid Sandahl

IRF Kiruna

ingrid.sandahl@irf.se

Andris Vaivads

IRF Uppsala

andris@irfu.se

Simon Walker

University of Sheffield

walker@acse.shef.ac.uk

James Wild

University of Leicester

j.wild@ion.le.ac.uk

Huigen Yang

Polar Research Institute, China

huigen_yang@hotmail.com

 

 

Programme

 

Wednesday, 9 February

 

Steve Milan, Stephan Buchert, Welcome and practical information.

 

N. Balan, Cluster and ground-based observations of the magnetosheath-cusp region during geomagnetic storms.

 

Lisa Rosenqvist (Stephan Buchert), Extreme Solar-Terrestrial events of October 2003: High latitude and Cluster observations of the large geomagnetic disturbance on October 30.

 

Stephan Buchert, Thin magnetospheric current layers and their signatures in the ionosphere.

 

James Wild, Double Star, Cluster, and ground-based observations of magnetic reconnection during an interval of duskward oriented IMF: preliminary result.

 

Ingrid Sandahl, ALIS, a system for spectroscopic ground-based imaging.

 

James Wild, Cluster and Double Star orbit/footprint plots for EISCAT and SuperDARN scheduling.

 

Yuri Khotyaintsev, The Orbit Visualization Tool.

 

Yasuhide Hobara, High altitude Oxygen outflow and associated wave activity
observed by Cluster, Event time:
April 12, 2001, 8-10 UT.

 

Erik Engwall, Cold ions and electric field measurements.

 

 

 

Thursday, 10 February

Steve Milan, SPEAR – update and future directions.

 

Jim Wild, Cluster/DoubleStar crossing dayside magnetopause with FTEs; SuperDARN and ESR, Event time: 25-03-2004, ~8 UT.

 

Adrian Grocott, Ground-based observations of bursty bulk flows.

 

Steve Milan, Cluster/DS in tail; substorm growth and expansion phase; SuperDARN and Polar UVI, Event time: 29-08-2004, ~02 UT.

 

Stephan Buchert, Conjunctions between Cluster, the Syowa South Pole stations, DMSP, and FAST 2002-2004.

 

Stephan Buchert, Cluster-Double Star tail conjunctions, Event times: 7-08-2004, 16-24 UT and 14-08-2004, 18-24 UT.

 

 

 

Friday, 11 February

 

Huigen Yang, Chinese ground based cusp observation in the Arctic and Antarctic.

 

Mats André, Harri Laakso, Future orbit and operations of Cluster.

 

Harri Laakso, DoubleStar / Themis / Swarm updates.

 

All, AOB